The NRCL is a not for profit company limited by guarantee. Since 2010, the Board has focused on establishing new strategic directions for the organisation.

A new constitution was approved by the Board on 1 December 2011 to reflect a new operational framework adopted in July 2011. A committee structure is being progressively introduced by the Board. A Performance Appraisal Committee was established in late 2010. The Audit and Risk Committee was established in 2012. A Governance Charter was also adopted in 2012.

Key documents

Board of Directors

Ken King
Ken King

Dip. For. (Cres), B.For Sc (Hons) Melb

Ken King – BForSc (Hons), Dip For (Cres)

Appointed to 2020

Ken King is a former Deputy Secretary with the Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment. In the Department he held senior executive positions covering Forestry and Bushfire policy; Parks and Reserve Management; and Regional Service Delivery. He has had extensive experience in forestry, fire, fauna and flora management and operations in Victoria. He was employed in the Victorian public service since 1974 until his retirement in 2008. He also has experience in public administration; policy and strategy and governance. He was previously Regional Manager for the Department of Conservation, Forests and Lands through to the Department of Natural Resources and Environment in South Gippsland, North West and Port Phillip Regions. Mr King was awarded the National Medal for Fire Services in 1989 and was previously a Board Member of the Phillip Island Nature Park (1995–2003); the Country Fire Authority (2003–2012); Parks Victoria (2005–2012); the Australian Research Centre for Urban Ecology (2012–2017); and Board Member and Deputy President of the Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board (2008–2017). He was also the Departmental representative on the Yarram Land Protection Regional Advisory Committee and the Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority.

Currently Mr King is a:
* Board Member, Wannon Water Board (2017–)
* Chair, Company Secretary and Public Officer of the Natural Resources Conservation League of Victoria (2003–)
* Director and Company Secretary of the Habitat Trust Melbourne (1995–)
* Director and Deputy Chair of the Bjarne K Dahl Trust (trading as Eucalypt Australia) (2009–)
* Independent Member, Risk and Finance Committee, Colac Area Health (2014 –)
* Part time Senior Project Manager, Victorian Planning Authority (strategic advice on biodiversity, native vegetation, bushfire management and Aboriginal cultural heritage management) (2008 –)

John Hutchins
John Hutchins

MComm.Law, Grad Dip Agri, BBus, CPA, FAICD, SA-Fin

Jon Hutchins

Appointed to 2019

With over 20 years management experience in the public, private and ‘not-for-profit’ sectors Jonathan brings vast commercial experience to the Board and a background in corporate governance. In addition to board and management positions in the health and natural resource sectors, he has had experience in Australia and the U.S.A. with Andersen Consulting, management positions with multi-national agribusiness organisations, senior management experience with Coles Myer.

Jonathan is currently the CEO for the Mt Hotham Resort Management Board and a Board member of Tourism North East.

He is a trustee of a philanthropic trust and former Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee at Swimming Victoria.

A strong affinity with regional Victoria has seen Jonathan involved with many community groups in regional Victoria including the Mansfield District Hospital and National Alpine Museum of Australia.


B.Com, LLB (Hons), M.Env (Hons), MAICD

Sarah Barker

Appointed to 2019

Sarah Barker is a Special Counsel in the Corporate (Commercial & Regulatory) group at Minter Ellison Lawyers.  She brings nearly two decades of experience as a senior corporate advisor on commercial, governance, compliance and regulatory issues, with particular expertise in fiduciary duties, anti-competitive conduct (antitrust) and consumer protection laws.

Alongside her commercial practice, Sarah teaches the Company Directors’ Course for the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is a Non-Executive Director of the Emergency Services & State Superannuation Fund.  She is completing her PhD in corporate law at the University of Melbourne, and is an Academic Visitor at the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment at Oxford University.

She is a sought-after speaker and commentator on corporate governance, compliance, regulatory and sustainability issues, with publications including the Australian Financial Review, The Financial Times, Law Institute Journal, Keeping Good Companies (Chartered Secretaries Australia), International Bar Association Newsletter, The Boardroom Report and Company Director (Australian Institute of Company Directors).

Sarah is passionate about conservation and the environment. Her work on directors’ fiduciary duties and environmental issues has received a number of international awards, including the United Nations Principles of Responsible Investment Sustainalytics Prize for Responsible Investment Research. She lives with her husband and two daughters in bayside Melbourne.

Dr Hugh Stewart
Dr Hugh Stewart

PhD, MSc (Forestry), BSc (Forestry), Dip. Forestry

Dr Hugh Stewart

Appointed to 2020

Hugh works in natural resource management, specialising in sustainable management of forest resources, integrated land-use and social dimensions of forestry.

He has worked in the public and private sectors in Australia and overseas for 40 years, including two years in Zimbabwe on a social forestry project. He has worked as an independent consultant since 2009, on such projects as socio-economic analyses of the forestry industry, community forestry in Indonesia through the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research, environmental auditing, assessment of the conservation values of forests, and landcare contributions to human wellbeing.


Since 1992 Hugh has worked with family members to re-develop the 229 hectare Stewart family farm at Deans Marsh to achieve sustainable land-use by integrating agroforestry with prime lamb production.

Hugh is a member of the Advisory Committee of the Otway Agroforestry Network, a member of the Committee of Management of Trees Victoria Incorporated, and a director and deputy chair of the Corangamite Catchment Management Authority. He is also a member of the Institute of Foresters Australia and a member of the Social Chamber of the Forest Stewardship Council of Australia.